My carbon footprint

I have just calculated my ecological footprint. There has been great talk of carbon emissions in the last few months and for some reason it’s been front of mind for the past few days.

On the Victorian EPA site I calculated a footprint of 4.6 global hectares. The Earth can apparently regenerate 1.8 gha per person each year comfortably. On my account, we would need 2 and a half planets to sustain my activities. Shocking yes, but more shocking is that I’m less of a burden than average.

The Australian average is 7.7 gha – more than three times the global average of 2.2 gha,

But, the real shock came with knowing that 14.2 tonne per annum, or 83 percent of my total came from air travel…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

